Clapboard, frame, or “stick” houses, which used wood for exterior siding, were built in abundance by early Colonial settlers. However, due to their flammable nature, the City of Philadelphia outlawed the construction of wood buildings in 1796. During this time period, the Southwark District municipality governed suburban “Queen Village”. Despite the elevated risk of fire, frame houses continued to be built in Southwark until the District was merged with the City in 1854. Perhaps this difference in zoning laws accounts for the many historic and reconstructed wooden gems present in Queen Village today. Here are stories behind a few of these wonderful homes.